Monday, May 14, 2018

Jerusalem the Capital of Israel

The 3 Kings of the Kingdom of Israel (less than 200 years of existence):
  • Saul
  • David
  • Solomon

A few decades after 1100 BC.  Birth of the Kingdom of Israel. Under the second King, David, expanded its military power and conquests. The 3rd King Solomon, took the Kingdom to a prosperity known by all neighbors. He actively worked and traded with the Phoenicians and Assyrians. The Kingdom split right after his death (974 BC.). First, the Northern Kingdom was invaded by the Assyrians (Capital Damascus was destroyed).  Later, the Southern Kingdom was utterly destroyed by the Babylonians around 600 BC. The survivors fled or were taken captive.

The Second Temple

Now in the first year of Cyrus king of Persia, that the word of the Lord spoken by the mouth of Jeremiah might be accomplished, the Lord stirred up the spirit of Cyrus king of Persia, that he made a proclamation throughout all his kingdom, and put it also in writing, saying,
Thus saith Cyrus king of Persia, All the kingdoms of the earth hath the Lord God of heaven given me; and he hath charged me to build him an house in Jerusalem, which is in Judah. Who is there among you of all his people? The Lord his God be with him, and let him go up.

For great and accurate presentation about Jerusalem the Capital of Israel:

No comments:

Post a Comment